📚 A Year of Reading: Surpassing Goals and Discovering Gems

📚 A Year of Reading: Surpassing Goals and Discovering Gems

Last 2023, I set out with the modest goal of reading 15 books but found myself captivated by 17 extraordinary tales. Here's a glimpse into my literary journey:

  1. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
  2. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
  3. The Art of Loving by Erich Fromm
  4. Man's Search for Meaning by Viktor Frankl
  5. The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
  6. Show Your Work! by Austin Kleon
  7. Keep Going by Austin Kleon
  8. How to Stand Up To A Dictator by Maria Ressa
  9. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by JK Rowling
  10. Trese: Murder on Balete Drive by Budjette Tan
  11. You Are Here (For Now) by Adam Kurtz
  12. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling
  13. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling
  14. Animal Farm by George Orwell
  15. The Waves by Virginia Woolf
  16. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
  17. Orlando by Virginia Woolf

⭐ Favorites of 2023: A Deeper Dive

  1. The Little Prince

Kicking off 2023 with "The Little Prince" brought an abundance of joy. This tiny, charming book resonated deeply, touching my inner child—the one unafraid to explore, make friends, and care for all beings. It's more than a book; it's a reminder to nurture the child within.

  1. The Bell Jar

Sylvia Plath's "The Bell Jar" made an indelible mark on my year. Listening to Maggie Gyllenhaal's voice while navigating through Esther's world added a layer of intimacy to the experience. It felt like I, too, was unraveling alongside her, exploring the complexities of identity and self-discovery. A piercing view into the throes of depression, this remains one of the most important books on mental health.

  1. The Invention of Hugo Cabret

A nostalgic journey awaited me with "The Invention of Hugo Cabret." This book is a cherished memory. Reading it with my sisters as kids, fighting over its pages, and eventually rediscovering it as an adult rekindled the magic. The tale told through drawings brought me back to the enchanting world we once daydreamed in together.

  1. The Waves by Virginia Woolf

Virginia Woolf's "The Waves" is, without a doubt, the most beautiful book I've ever read. Woolf's ethereal and almost magical descriptions elevate the mundane into the extraordinary. Situated at the very heart of my bookshelf, it beckons to be read and reread, continually. Here are a few cherished quotes that embody its timeless brilliance:

🌊
"I am made and remade continually"
🌊
"I am rooted but I flow."
🌊
"And in me too the wave rise. It swells; it arches its back. I am awake once more of a new desire, something rising beneath me like the proud horse whose rider spurs then pulls him back."
🌊
"Against you, I will fling myself, unvanquished and unyielding, O death!"

As I close the chapter on my 2023 reading list, these favorites stand out not just as books but as companions that shaped my year.